Safety First Aviator

History on the Safety First Aviator Campaign

The campaign was developed in 2012, driven by the key industry and role players committed to reduce aviation accidents in South Africa,

The Aero Club of South Africa were awarded with the Don Tilley Trophy in 2012 for the development of the National Safety Campaign “Fly Safe Aviator” that was rolled out nationally following on from the 6th Annual South African Civil Aviation Safety Challenge issued in 2011 to General Aviation by the SACAA, a goal of halving the accident rate by the SA CAA Safety Seminar in 2014.

Outstanding and real contribution has integrated a culture of safety into the General Recreational and Sport Aviation industry in South Africa. It supports a credo that is tangible, and has a practical example and information sharing theme to assist new pilots and refresh existing pilots, by igniting and re-igniting their passion for the wonderful world of flight.

The Safety First Aviator team of 2017 were awarded with Special recognition for the enthusiasm of the team that was infectious to the audience as evidenced in their presentations, and it is hoped that what was provided in that short space of time will have a lasting effect on the attendees.

Theme 2018

Normalisation of Deviance

Meet the Team 

  • Eric Du Rand – SACAA
  • Piet Fourie – SACAA
  • Santjie White – SASAR
  • Kylee Burnett – Mayday-SA
  • Cobus Toerien – ALPA – SA
  • Petro Burger – SAWS
  • Karl Jensen – EAA
  • Carl Bollweg – ALPA – SA
  • Alan Evan-Hanes – AeCSA
  • Danie Heath – SASAR
  • Brendan Nortjie – ALPA – SA
  • Kgomotso Ketwa – SACAA
  • Mike Boywer – Comair LTD
  • Moses Mushovholula – SACAA
  • Sibusiso Ketwa – SACAA
  • Subash Devkaran – SACAA
  • Sandra Strydom – AeCSA